Chadwick And Miller Claim Last Event Of 2016-17 Season

Steve Chadwick and Keir Miller finished of their 2016-17 season with a bang as both claimed top prizes in the Season End Event. Keir, who has been very successful in gross competitions since joining late last year, added yet another gross accolade to his collection after carding 82 to claim a one shot victory from prolific winner Jae Woong Lee. Cavan Bickell claimed third in the gross division after an 84. Steve Chadwick snuck the net division title in what was an extremely close finish. He had to come through a card play-off with John Wilby as both players carded net 72. Fortunately for Steve his back nine 37 was enough to knock John back into second whilst Eric Engelbrecht claimed third place on 73.

 The Season End Event also resulted in some late changes in the Player Of The Year competition. This was a new competition introduced for the 2016-17 season which rewarded golfers for their consistent performances throughout the season with points awarded depending on competitors’ net scores. Tim Bird was crowned champion on 260 points followed by Cavan Bickell on 240. Callum Bird, who eventually claimed third, also finished on 240 points but lost in a play-off which was based on competition wins throughout the season.

The End of Season Event was then capped off with the End of Season BBQ and prize presentation in which the season winners were crowned and given their deserved prizes. Notable wins went to Callum Bird and Wilma Fernandes who won their respective Gross and Net Eclectic competitions. The Men’s Match Play winner Dave Hoggins, Ladies Match Play winner Lorraine Chadwick, Scratch Match Play winner Dave Faulkner, and Seniors Match Play winner John Wilby collected their Match Play trophies. John Wilby and Dave Hoggins also combined together to win the Pairs Match Play.

The Golfer of the Year awards went to Tim Bird and Tracy Scott who have both performed exceptionally throughout the season as well as supporting almost every event in the Al Hamra calendar.

The most prestigious award of the evening, The Members Player of the Year award, was, as always, extremely close with only one vote in it. Dave Hoggins was a worthy winner following another extremely consistent season, especially in the Match Play competitions.