Team Abu Dhabi’s reigning world champion back in control as championship heads for climax in UAE

Team Abu Dhabi’s Shaun Torrente took an important step towards retaining his drivers’ title in the UIM F1H2O World Championship today with victory in a dramatic Grand Prix of China.

The ninth Grand Prix win of his career and the second this season saw Torrente regain the lead in the title race from Jonas Andersson, and he now heads into December’s final round of the series in Sharjah holding a five-point advantage over the Swede.

After securing his ninth pole position earlier in the day, the reigning world champion made a perfect race start in Xiamen to open a clear lead before the first of four yellow flags halted the action.

From the re-start, Torrente held his advantage as yesterday’s Grand Prix of Xiamen winner, Italian four-time former world title holder Alex Carella, flipped his boat spectacularly in a bold attempt to snatch the lead.

In a race of attrition only nine of 17 starters finished, the Grand Prix ending under the last yellow flag after 31 laps, with Torrente winning from France’s three-time world champion Phillippe Chiappe and Andersson in third.

Among today’s casualties was Torrente’s Abu Dhabi team-mate Thani Al Qemzi, who was making a bold effort to recover from yesterday’s terminal engine problems before crashing out on the 22nd lap.

The consolation for Al Qemzi, still fourth in the championship, is that the Abu Dhabi duo are well on their way to retaining the world team title, holding a 22-point lead over Team Sweden.

In the F4-S series, Team Abu Dhabi’s Mohammed Al Mehairbi finished third behind German race winner Max Stilz and Britain’s Harvey Smith for the second day in succession. Team Abu Dhabi’s Rashed Al Remeithi was placed eighth.

Grand Prix of China results

  1. Shaun Torrente Team Abu Dhabi
  2. Philippe Chiappe CTIC F1 Shenzhen China
  3. Jonas Andersson Team Sweden
  4. Marit Stromoy Emirates Racing
  5. Erik Edin Team Sweden
  6. Sami Selio Sharjah Team

UIM F1H2O World Championship standings

  1. Shaun Torrente 64pts
  2. Jonas Andersson 59
  3. Marit Stromoy 37
  4. Thani Al Qemzi 27
  5. Alex Carella 25
  6. Peter Morin 23

Team standings

  1. Team Abu Dhabi 91pts
  2. Team Sweden 69pts
  3. Emirates Racing 51pts
  4. CTIC F1 Shenzhen China 38pts
Email This Post