Scuderia Praha Ferrari on pole position for Hankook 12H RED BULL RING

The Scuderia Praha Ferrari 488 GT3 (#11, Jiri Pisarik/Josef Král/Matteo Malucelli) has claimed the best grid position for the third round of the 24H SERIES powered by Hankook, the inaugural 12H RED BULL RING. Italian Matteo Malucelli lapped the 4.318 kilometre Grand Prix circuit in 1:28.755 minutes to score the second consecutive pole position for the Czech team. Improving in the closing stages, Christian Engelhart put the locally based GRT Grasser Racing Team with its Lamborghini Huracán GT3 (#964, Christian Engelhart/Rolf Ineichen/Mark Ineichen) into second place, 0.418 seconds behind the Scuderia Praha Ferrari. Only 0.020 seconds down, the Forch Racing powered by Olimp Porsche 991 GT3 R (#29, Robert Lukas/Zeljko Drmic/Patrick Eisemann) settled for third. The Herberth Motorsport Porsche 991 GT3 R (#911, Daniel Allemann/Ralf Bohn/Robert Renauer/Alfred Renauer) will follow in fourth on the grid.

Eight of the 15 A6 cars run in the A6-Am configuration and have to respect a minimum reference lap time. With seventh position overall, the SPS automotive performance Mercedes-AMG GT3 (#24, Alexandre Coigny/David Iradj Alexander/Richard Feller) was the quickest A6-Am car. Only eight hundredths down, the GP Extreme Renault RS01 FGT3 (#27, Frederic Fatien/Jordan Grogor/Bassam Kronfli) followed in second from the Car Collection Motorsport Audi R8 LMS (#32, Max Edelhoff/Horst Felbermayr Jr./Toni Forné).

The MSG Motorsport Porsche 991 Cup (#92, Luca Rettenbacher/Christopher Zöchling/Philipp Sager) scored the 991 class pole position from the Forch Racing by Lukas Motorsport Porsche 991 Cup (#81, Robert Lukas/Igor Walilko/Piotr Parys/Christopher Bauer). Third place went to the Olimp Racing by Lukas Motorsport Porsche 991 Cup (#67, Santiago Creel/Igor Walilko/Piotr Wojcik/Christopher Bauer).

An exotic edged out the Porsche teams in the SP2 class. Local driver Ferdinand Stuck put the True-Racing KTM X-BOW GT4 (#46, Gerald Kiska/Johannes Stuck/Ferdinand Stuck) into the class lead on home turf. Best of the four Porsche was the Speed Lover Porsche 991 Cup (#78, Pierre-Yves Paque/Jean-Michel Gerome/Christian Kelders) in second place, followed by the B2F compétition Porsche 991 Cup (#35, Benoit Fretin/Bruno Fretin/Michel Mitieus).

After these group of cars had set their times in the first session, the remaining cars of the SP3-GT4, TCR, and A3 classes went out for the second 45 minute qualifying encounter.

Halfway through the session, the Optimum Motorsport Ginetta G55 GT4 (#231, Adrian Barwick/Dan O’Brien/Tom Hibbert) came to a halt after having sustained suspension damage from a curb, but could still stay on top of the SP3-GT4 ranking. Second was the RTR Projects KTM X-BOW GT4 (#221, Sergej Pavlovec/Daniel Skalický/Tomas Miniberger) from the Diesel powered HTM Racing Saker GT TDI (#222, Henk Thijssen/Monny Krant/Ivo Breukers).

Quickest in the TCR class was the Speed Factory Racing Audi RS3 LMS SEQ (#109, Jesus Fuster/Miguel Abello/Mirko van Oostrum/Jaime Fuster). Following in second and third was the Team Altran Peugeot with their two brand-new cars, the Peugeot 308 Racing Cup (#308, Guillaume Roman/Thierry Blaise/Kim Holmgaard) and the Peugeot 308 Racing Cup (#908, Stéphane Ventaja/Thierry Boyer/Michael Carlsen).

The only A3 car, the Pfister-Racing Team Seat Leon Supercopa (#150, Mario Krall/Christof Pichler/Wolfgang Kriegl/Gerald Heigis)   will form the back of the grid together with the A6-Pro entered Vortex V8 Vortex 1.0 (#204, Lionel Amrouche/Cyril Calmon/Amaury Bonduel/Olivier Gomez), that did not take part in qualifying due to bodywork repairs.

Email This Post