Australian domestic season concludes, state award winners acknowledged

Australia’s domestic cricket season has come to a close, with the country’s leading performers recognised at the last of the state presentation nights this weekend, following the conclusion of the Sheffield Shield.

South Australia bowler Chadd Sayers was named the Sheffield Shield Player of the Year, after finishing with 54 wickets at an average of 19.20 in the regular season – including four five-wicket hauls.

He also claimed eight wickets in the Sheffield Shield Final against Victoria – including a seven-wicket first innings haul – to finish with 62 scalps for the season.

Sayers, 29, won the award with 16 votes, ahead of Western Australia all-rounder Hilton Cartwright, New South Wales batsman Ed Cowan and Victorian bowler Chris Tremain, who were tied for second with 14 votes each.

The voting system saw each standing umpire award a 3-2-1 votes tally to the players they adjudicated as best on ground in each Sheffield Shield match during the regular season.

Cricket Australia Executive General Manager, Team Performance, Pat Howard said:

“Chadd has had a remarkable season, claiming more than 60 wickets and helping South Australia to reach the Sheffield Shield Final. His performance with the ball has been phenomenal. He is an extremely deserving recipient of the 2016-17 Sheffield Shield Player of the Year award, and perhaps unlucky not to have played Test cricket given the time he has spent with the Test squad.

“We congratulate Chadd on his achievements, and all of our State Cricket Award winners for their efforts throughout the summer.

“It has been another successful domestic summer – both in the men’s and women’s formats – with some exceptional cricket being played across the Sheffield Shield, Matador BBQs One-Day Cup, Women’s National Cricket League and Toyota Futures League competitions.

“We are seeing the emergence of young players at international level on the back of strong performances at domestic level and watching seasoned domestic performers and international representatives continuing to prosper at state level. Both of these factors are a strong reflection on the quality of domestic cricket in Australia and the strength of Australian cricket overall.”

Tasmania completed a clean sweep of the Spirit of Cricket awards, receiving the Benaud Spirit of Cricket Award after being awarded the Men’s Spirit of Cricket Award and Women’s Spirit of Cricket Award.

Emerging Queensland all-rounder Cameron Trask was named the Lord’s Taverners Indigenous Cricketer of the Year.

Players can only receive this award once, and Trask follows in the footsteps of previous winners including Ashleigh Gardner (2015), D’Arcy Short (2011) and Dan Christian (2010).

ACT bowler Thomas Rogers collected 24 wickets and scored two half-centuries to win the Toyota Futures League Player of the Year award, as voted on by the standing umpires in each match.

Umpire Simon Fry – a member of the Cricket Australia National Panel and ICC International Panel – was named Umpire of the Year for the fourth consecutive year.

2016-17 State Cricket Award winners

  • Sheffield Shield Player of the Year: Chadd Sayers (South Australia)
  • Benaud Spirit of Cricket Award: Tasmania
  • Men’s Spirit of Cricket Award (Shield/Matador): Tasmania
  • Men’s Spirit of Cricket Award – Captain: George Bailey
  • Women’s Spirit of Cricket Award (WNCL): Tasmania
  • Women’s Spirit of Cricket Award – Captain: Veronica Pyke
  • Lord’s Taverners Indigenous Cricketer of the Year: Cameron Trask (Queensland)
  • Toyota Futures League Player of the Year: Thomas Rogers (ACT)
  • Umpire of the Year: Simon Fry
Email This Post